Lookin’ Curve-aceous

Sephora by OPI gelshine™ Gel Colour in Curve-aceous

No, that is NOT the message across the back of my sweatpants! I am wearing yoga pants 😉

I had a bit of a stressful day because Baby Ram-a-razzi is teething and Mr. Ram-a-razzi returns to work tomorrow after a nice, long Thanksgiving break. Put these two things together and you get a bit of a tense household full of pouting and the occasional hissy fit.

I thought it would be fun to pull out my Sephora by OPI gel nail color system. It was a complete impulse purchase at $159. To be perfectly honest, my Mom bought it for me. She wanted to try it out and said I could have it if I promised to do her nails a few times with it. She has arthritis so painting her nails, which she loves, is getting to be a bit of a pain and making them look perfect is almost impossible for the able-fingered.

The system takes a bit of getting used to. The first time I did it I spent almost 45 minutes. That is a bit much for a manicure, even if it lasts 2 weeks. I just did what was probably my 10th manicure with it and it took me exactly 16 minutes from start to finish. It seems like a lot of steps but it goes by fast.

I love it so much I now own 6 colors of gel. The kit comes with your choice of one color. In the kit you get:
– 0.29 oz gelshine™ Base Coat
– 0.29 oz gelshine™ Top Coat
– 0.29 oz gelshine™ Gel Colour (your choice of colors)
– gelshine™ LED Light
– 25 x Nail Pads
– 3 x Removal Nail Wraps
– 2 oz Nail Cleanser
– Buffing block
– 2 oz Nail & Gel Colour Remover
– 0.3 oz Brush-On Cuticle Oil
– Cuticle pusher
– 3 x gloves
– Instructions

Each new color is $17.50. That seems a little pricy but a bottle lasts 6-7 manicures from what reviews online have said. I have my base & top coats for 10 manis and still have about 1/2 a bottle of each. The color really does stay on for 2 weeks. That is not advertising fluff! It might last even longer but I soak mine off in acetone after 2 weeks due to regrowth.

I have never used the removal wraps, gloves or removal solution. I just use acetone on cotton balls and wrap each nail in foil. Old beauty school trick to get of acrylic or gel nails that I learned in my days as an esthetician.

Mama feels a little prettier and a mama who feels pretty is a happier mama!

Leave a Reply

