Expectations

When it comes to expectations I tend to be the little yodeling man on the “Price Is Right” mountain climber game. No matter if I am talking about what I expect from myself, what is expected of me by others or even what I expect of others, I tend to sing my way right off the edge of the mountain. I have very high expectations for myself and do my best to live up to them. I have a few people in my life that I try to live up to their expectations of me but they are a select group. I learned a long time ago that trying to be everything that everyone wants you to be is an exhausting, worthless effort.

My big issue is my expectations of others. I am not super demanding. I don’t have unrealistic expectations of perfection.

My expectations are simple:

  • Honesty
  • Reliability
  • Compassion
  • Respect

I keep them simple because having specific expectations, in my humble opinion, is a quick recipe for disappointment. I also want my friends and family to expect the same from me. I wish people disappointing me didn’t eat at me so much. I take it to heart and start to wonder why these simple things can’t be accomplished.

As much as I wish I could make people change, it is ultimately their choice to be the way that they are. I wish I could just move on, wash my hands of the nonsense, quit stressing and live my life. I just can’t without feeling like I failed.

2 thoughts on “Expectations

Leave a Reply

