Just In Case You Wondered, I Didn’t Join Witness Protection And Move To Iowa

It has been quite a while since I have posted on my blog. I’ve been busy yet nothing super exciting to report. Oh, I am turning 30 this week but we can just call it 29 part deux. Honestly, I have no issue with it and I love birthdays. White cake with buttercream icing soothes the soul.

For fun, I did a little research about what all has happened since November 1983 and it is quite fascinating.

At age 30, you’re older than 42 percent of Americans.

Age 30 is the average NFL retirement age. Damn! I guess there goes my chances

Motorola introduced the first cell phone in 1983…the size of a VCR with a handset

On my actual date of birth, November 3 – The Reverend Jesse Jackson announces his candidacy for the 1984 Democratic Party presidential nomination.

I am the same age as: McNuggets, The Moonwalk, TCP/IP, REM’s first album, Plink on “The Price Is Right”, Swatch Watches, the original Minivan, Sony camcorders, Hooters Restaurants, Microsoft Word, Carebears and Cabbage Patch Kids!

The USSR, Czechoslovakia, East German and West Germany only exist in books

We have clones sheep, figured out the whole DNA identification thing, made it to the year 2000 without mass hysteria, built the International Space Station and launched the Hubble

We have met Harry Potter, loved and lost our “Friends”, wore a lot of flannel and CKOne, secretly liked Biggie and 2Pac, wished the Spice Girls CD we once owned never happened, know some of the words to “Mmmbop” still and are still mourning that “Doogie Howser” will never be more than a friend to us girls.

If I left something out, sorry. I hear the memory starts to go at 30.

Leave a Reply

